My Take On Apple Crisp

So a long time ago, like over 7 years ago, I went through a huge homemade baking kick. I was tired of just following other people’s recipes and never getting it right. I was really good at forgetting at least one very important ingredient, over baking, under baking, not mixing well enough… you get my point.

So when I say I went through a ‘homemade’ baking phase, I mean I just gathered ingredients that I thought might go together and made up my own version of some sort of desert.  Some times I failed miserably while my family sat there looking at their desert plates begging not to have to eat what was put in front of them. Other times, I did okay. It at least LOOKED delicious so everyone wanted to try it and managed to say it was fine. On a rare occasion, I hit a home run! Everyone LOVED IT so much it became a family dessert staple in our home. Well as long as I could remember how I made it that is. LOL

Today, I am going to share with you, my family’s all time favorite dessert out of this era.

APPLE-CINNAMON ROLL CRISP

What you will need:

2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 Tsp salt
1/2 Tsp cinnamon
2 sticks chilled butter thinly sliced
2 cans apple pie filling
2 cans Pillsbury cinnamon rolls with icing

Heat Oven to 350 degrees. In large rectangular glass baking dish pour in both cans of apple pie filling making sure to spread them evenly over the bottom. Set aside.

In large mixing bowl, mix flour, light brown sugar, granulated sugar, salt, and cinnamon really well. Add chilled butter slices one stick at a time and mix with hands until large clumps form. Separate this mixture in half.

Crumble half the mixture all over the apple pie filling in the baking dish. Open Pillsbury Cinnamon Rolls and set the icing aside. Place Cinnamon Rolls over the apple pie and crumble mix sides touching. Cover the entire thing with the Cinnamon Rolls. Spread the rest of the crispy topping mixture over the entire top of the Cinnamon Rolls. Bake for 35 minutes (cooking times may vary) you know it is done when the topping is a golden brown and the cinnamon rolls are done. Spread icing over the top while hot. Eat and Enjoy!!

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Take On Apple Crisp

Leave a Reply

