Aspire To Inspire

In my last post, I explained what I felt it meant to be a writer. At the end of that post, I stated the following:

You dedicate yourself to your craft with your only hope being that you touch at least one other person through your writing. That it affects them and moves them in some form. You desire to spark some emotion, any emotion. Then as a writer, you feel deep gratitude if that person lets you know that your writing has indeed had an effect.

Because of this phrase, and the post, I received the highest honor a writer could receive. I am deeply humbled and as stated in the original post, grateful for the following comment:

Best blog comment ever

blaNk, I would like to give you a shout out along with a formal thank you for letting me know my writing moved and inspired you.

That said, let’s jump right into today’s topic of aspiring to inspire.

In today’s rushed and chaotic world, we have demands put on us from every direction. It is so easy to become discouraged, distracted and what I like to call ‘numb’ to anything we do not have to take immediate care of. We have such a hard time meeting our personal needs and responsibilities, we often do not stop to think how our preoccupied on the go actions affect others around us.

As we fumble to navigate our ornate lives unaware of our impact, time keeps moving. Before we know it, we develop “blackout-itis syndrome” where we cannot remember who was around us at any given time or if we had a positive or negative effect on them. It is almost as if we partied hard for days, months or even sometimes years on end, then wake up one day wondering where we are, where we’ve been and most of all what we did. One thing we do know, it is one hell of a hangover.

Waking up from this blackout-itis syndrome takes away our confidence. It can leave us depleted and depressed. Feeling lost and alone, the last thing we desire or wish to do is be kind to others. Yet, it is the BEST thing we can do. I am a firm believer that the quickest way to lighten your own mood, put a smile on your face and feel good again, is to aspire to inspire someone else. Make someone else smile and there is an instant smile on your own face.

What blaNK did not know is that with this comment left on my blog post, I too was inspired to continue on my professional writing journey. This is just one example of how we can take the smallest moment out of our day, simply say something kind to another person and we get a HUGE return on that small investment. Who wouldn’t like that? Little effort, certainly not work, easy to accomplish… batta bing batta boom!

Moral, slow down, take your time, pay attention to those around you. Give compliments, smiles, hugs! Gain those returns by aspiring to inspire.

9 thoughts on “Aspire To Inspire

  1. Hi Cheynoea,

    You wrote, “In today’s rushed and chaotic world, we have demands put on us from every direction. It is so easy to become discouraged, distracted and what I like to call ‘numb’ to anything we do not have to take immediate care of. We have such a hard time meeting our personal needs and responsibilities, we often do not stop to think how our preoccupied on the go actions affect others around us.”

    That passage struck a resonating chord in me for I have that thought frequently. In fact, I could’ve written most of this post word-for-word myself. I guess that’s the collective unconscious manifesting itself. Your thoughts here remind me of a great quote from Elizabeth Strout’s _Olive Kitteridge_, “Sometimes, like now, Olive had a sense of just how desperately hard every person in the world was working to get what they needed.” I think you would enjoy that book if you haven’t already read it. And here’s another germane quote from the same book, just for fun: “And mentally, I don’t believe, really, that I am one bit more out of my head than any other creature here on earth.”

    Lovely, right? Just like your posts.

    Take care, be well, and keep ’em coming!

    Denny

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your well thought out and delightful comment. I truly appreciate the compliments as well. It is nice to know that my thoughts are the same thoughts of others.
      I believe the first step to a better world is for more of us to realize the effect we have on others as well as the fact that they too have the very same issues. Maybe just in a different form.
      The quotes you shared were indeed beautiful. I will certainly check that book out as soon as I have a chance. Thank you for sharing it. Olive Kitteridge! Lovely for sure.
      You take care too, hope you have a wonderful day.

      Tonya

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed this – reminds us that one small things said or done by us can mean a massive amount to the person on the other end – and you never know when what you have done might have been the catalyst in lighting their fire a bit brighter under them to fuel them to go on further 🙂 Thanks for the post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

