ReBlogging Questions

I would like to ask the blogging world how they feel about re-blogging old posts from years ago that very few have seen?

  1. Is this a good idea or a bad one? Why?
  2. Would you create a new post with the old original content?
  3. Would you rewrite the original post and add in some new thoughts?
  4. Would you state clearly that it was a reblog?
  5.  Would you hide the fact that it was a reblog?
  6. Is there an etiquette unspoken or pronounced to follow when reblogging?

Since I am so new to keeping up my blog these are questions I have. I started this blog years ago but did not stick with it. I now have a renewed sense of longing to write, therefore, I am writing daily. But I have some old content, non-fiction, and poems that had not gotten even 1 view that I would like to see the response too.

Do you guys find new followers going into your archives or categories to seek out old posts? Please share your thoughts with me. I would love to learn more.

9 thoughts on “ReBlogging Questions

  1. I’ve only been blogging for a year and sporadically at that so I don’t know how valid my opinions are but I’ll offer them anyway.

    1. I don’t think it’s a bad idea as long as you aren’t just constantly reposting old material without changing or recontextualizing it. 2. I would create a new post stating clearly that I was recycling material. 3. That would depend on the post & why I was recycling it. 4 & 5. I would state clearly that it’s a reblog.

    Take care, be well, and happy (re)blogging!

    Dennny

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your input Denny. Yes, your opinions do hold value. We are all writers and as such we have an unspoken connection and support for each other. It does not matter to me how long or how little one has blogged. I am grateful and blessed to even spark a thought or a comment on anything I write. So thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 1. Good idea
    2. Yes
    3. Definitely
    4. Doesn’t matter
    5. Like I said doesn’t matter
    6. I don’t think so.. It’s your blog and if you’re here to write for yourself, yet again it wouldn’t matter
    Sorry if my answer was too direct, I had to pen it down quickly before the questions

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ..Before I forgot what the questions were… And I pressed send by mistake. .haha.. Though I’ve been blogging for just a week…. As a follower or even as a blogger, this would be my opinion..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First off, your blog, your rules. For me, on my blog, I wouldn’t necessarily reblog anything. I might add a link to my homepage that sends people to an old piece I think is relevant again, but I wouldn’t reblog it, or re-post it under a new title, or any of that. I did use to write a lot in an old blog I no longer use – there I consider reposting some of my writing, as long as re-edit and fine tune the growth I’ve had since then. But that’s me. It’s your blog, you get to make the rules.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

