Today I Woke Up

Today I Woke Up
©Tonya Ross 2015

Today, I woke up,
In a bed to hold my weary bones, on a pillow to hold my tired head,
Under a blanket to warm my skin and in a room safe within,
Today, I woke up!

Today, I woke up,
Before opening my eyes, a little routine I performed.
One my granddad instilled deep and strong, to get me through all day long.
Today, I woke up!

Today, I woke up,
I imagined in my head, opening a locked and closed door,
This door signifying a brand new day, stepping through I choose a pathway.
Today, I woke up!

Today, I woke up,
Yesterday is done and gone, the door has closed
Locked tight as can be. No sense in holding onto that key.
Today, I woke up!

Today, I woke up,
Tomorrow has yet to come, I refuse to live in a ‘whatif’ world,
My focus will be on here and now, the only things that get me is what I’ll allow.
Today, I woke up!

Today, I woke up.
There may be a storm brewing outside these four walls,
Looking out these windows, Mother Nature’s wind is blowing through the willows.
But today, I woke up!

Today, I woke up,
Thankful for a fresh new start, a smile on my face,
T’will be a good day for me, sunshine and roses is all I see.
Today, I woke up!

Leave a Reply

